HuGo read better books

You. Go Read better books. Books like these winners of the 2017 Hugo Award.

The Hugo Award has been given annually since 1955 to the best Science Fiction works of the previous year. Each year between January and March members of the WorldCon (World Science Fiction Convention) are allowed to nominate up to five works in fifteen different categories. By April a short list is announced. In July, current WorldCon members fill out a preferential ballot. The winners are officially announced at WorldCon each year and awarded a special trophy.


I have to admit I haven’t read any of the winners — Sad Day — but perhaps this will add quality product to my “to read” pile… and perhaps it will do the same for you.

In particular, I am excited to read Every Heart a Doorway (The Wayward Children series) by Seanan McGuire, and “The Tomato Thief” by Ursula Vernon.


To see this year’s winners visit ( or the official Hugo Awards home page (


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s